You wish you kicked ass, like a girl!

My son busted it on the concrete the other day.  Trying not to hover I called out to him, “You alright dude?”  Taking a few deep breaths, he stood up and dusted off his hind quarters.  He smiled and proclaimed, “I’m a man, I can take anything.”

Smiling, I turned and walked away.  It was like a thorn in my paw.  It ate at me all day.  Why is bravery and tough synonymous with being a man?  When I think of someone both brave and tough, most of my examples are women.

Being a Southern mother of a son, I have had to shrug off plenty of sexist remarks used to toughen up boys: boys don’t cry, step it up Nancy, and girls play in kitchens.  But I have had enough.

Maybe my time in the dojo has colored my outlook, but women ARE brave and tenacious.  We are the backbone of our families; the rule makers and enforcers of our homes; and the front line of protection for our friends, families, and children.

We need to inform our boys and girls of the women in the world that push the boundaries and prove the stereotypes wrong.  We need to remind them that women are more than girlfriends, wives, and mothers.  That way maybe the next time my son hears, “You ____ like a girl” a few pictures may come to mind.

Throw like a girl.

Jennie Finch

Jennie Finch

Hammer the gavel like a girl.

Sandra Day O'Conner, Sonia Sotomayor, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and Elena Kagan

Sandra Day O’Conner, Sonia Sotomayor, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and Elena Kagan

Cook like a girl.

Alice Waters

Alice Waters

Run like a girl.

Jackie Joyner Kersee

Jackie Joyner Kersee

Drive like a girl.

Danica Patrick

Danica Patrick

Run a Country like a girl.

Margaret Thatcher

Margaret Thatcher

Train a Marine like a girl.

Pfcs. Katie Gorz, Julia Carroll, and Christina Fuentes Montenegro

Pfcs. Katie Gorz, Julia Carroll, and Christina Fuentes Montenegro

Call the shots like a girl.

Violet Palmer

Violet Palmer

Paint like a girl.

Frida Kahlo

Frida Kahlo

And Punch like a girl.

Laila Ali

Laila Ali

March is Women’s History Month, and I have decided that every day I am going to tell the story of a woman who has blazed the trail.  There are examples of a woman’s touch in every facet of our world’s history, and I know he will not be the only one to learn a thing or two about the life of women.

I urge you to do the same, take the time to find (and pass on) a few examples of just how tenacious we can be.

– NinjaKitty

#girlskicksass  #betenacious  #WomensHistroyMonth  #girlpower

Leave a Reply

